Movie Review: The Avengers

It’s been a while since I went to a movie theater on a movie’s opening night, but this one was one I just couldn’t pass up.  Despite chronic back pain (damn those uncomfortable theater seats), I sat through almost 2 1/2 hours…

OF EPICNESS!

The Marvel movies that have been leading up to this with additional scenes stuck after the credits have PAID OFF.  Joss Wheden did not disappoint – the character development was really well done (and considering there are 6 heroes and at least 4 other rather main characters to split screen time with, that’s very difficult), the pace moved fairly well, the initial disfunction and the eventual meshing of the group felt very natural, the battles were head-spinning, and the dialogue was perfect.  There were also plenty of comedic moments to break the tension, enough so that I can’t wait to watch it again on Blu-Ray to make sure I caught them all.

In particular, I was intrigued by Tony Stark’s immediate respect and interest in Bruce Banner.  Robert Downey, Jr revived his character seamlessly, of course, being such an incredible actor in the first place, and I was really interested in Mark Ruffalo’s portrayal of Banner – his nervousness and anxiety over his transformations coupled with his deep desire to be helpful seemed pitch-perfect to me.

I was also left desperate for a movie to be made with Black Widow and Hawkeye.  I don’t think they will have any struggle in putting one together, and after seeing and enjoying Jeremy Renner in several films, I am eager to see him again in the same character.  Scarlett Johannson was the perfect choice for Black Widow the first time around, and she brought Widow more depth with this film.

My complaints about this movie are few, but one I was kind of disappointed with was Agent Coulson – Wheden decided to portray him as a gushing fanboy of Captain America, something I thought should have been severely scaled back.  He could have gotten the point across with a lot less tripping-over-his-own-tongue.  Agent Coulson always seemed like the consummate professional to me, and this added a dimension to him I didn’t feel fit.

Additionally, I was slightly confused how during the first transformation, the Hulk went from complete destruction hellbent on removing ANYONE in his path, to working alongside the rest of the Avengers without them fearing his wrath.  Perhaps I missed something in the exposition (I was in a rather noisy theater), but this was something that nagged at me later on.

All in all, a FANTASTIC movie.  Also, do yourself a HUGE favor and sit through ALL the credits.  There is a mid-credit scene AND a post-credit scene.  99% of our theater missed the final scene because they left after the first one.  Suckers!

ENJOY!

Posted on May 5, 2012, in Comics & Cartoons, Film and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say something beautiful!

