When your brain refuses to work…

I’m so sorry that I have been absent for so long.  Apparently my creative juices just decided to come to a complete stop, an I lost momentum.  Several times I would see something, or read something and think “hey, I could post that on…nahhhh, nevermind.”  I absolutely hate when that happens, but until something jumpstarts my mojo again, I guess I just have to slog through it.

So a few weeks back I tried to slip on one of my favorite pair of jeans, and *surprise surprise* I felt like I was trying to stuff sausage back into the casing.  Like so many other people today, I have struggled with my weight for many years.  Sometimes I’m up high, sometimes I am mid-ranged, but I haven’t been a decent weight for my height and bone structure since high school.  Creeping depressingly up near my high point again, I decided enough was enough and I got the jumpstart I needed.

After researching, reading, and speaking to several people, I decided to not only re-join Weight Watchers but also include jogging into my regimen.  Weight Watchers has worked very well for me in the past, but something typically derails me, I get upset and depressed, and suddenly I’m off the program.  Workouts usually go through the same cycle, only much faster…  I get excited about exercising, I do it for about 2-3 weeks, then I throw my back out (my notorious weak spot).  And not just throw it out for a day or two, I am talking more than a week that ends when I finally get tired of crying in pain and go to the hospital for a shot and some percocets just to stop the pain cycle.  By the time I feel ok enough to start exercising again, I’ve lost the excitement and momentum, and that’s the end of that.

This time, however, has been wonderfully different.  After acquiring a good pair of running sneakers, I have been jogging at least every other day.  Well, to be perfectly honest, it’s more like a walk with a lot of jogging stuck in there.  I can’t do much distance, but I do go for longer stints each time I go.

At this point, I am considering introducing some workouts that are part of interval training – 50 seconds of workout, 10 seconds of rest, 3 or four different moves.  I’m a little nervous about it, considering my back issues, so I definitely need to take it slow.  Finger’s crossed though, I am looking forward to being healthier!

Posted on August 31, 2012, in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I used the C25K app by Zen Labs (there was a free version. yay!) when I was training for my 5K. It worked great and lets you use your playlists while you’re working. Does the interval training like you said but starts really small (60 seconds of jogging followed by 90 seconds of walking). Times it for you and tells you when to run/walk. Very easy to follow. Liked it so much I downloaded the 10K and 13.1 versions. Of course, I haven’t used them since but one day… 😉

    I think they also have a paid version so you might have to look a bit harder for the free one but it should be there. Has ads but they never bothered me enough to want to pay for it.

    • I did download a C25K app, but it felt a little intimidating, so I just walk down the hill from my house to one of the side streets that is on one level… I stretch just as I turn onto the street, then jog for as long as I can before my side starts to pinch and I have a lot of trouble breathing. Then I walk for as long as it takes to calm down, and jog again for as long as I can. Rinse, repeat. I will probably give the C25K program a try, just want to build up a little more 🙂

Say something beautiful!

