Recipe: Chicken Pot Pie (that is light enough to have seconds without guilt!)

My continued absence from here is annoying even me, so pushing myself to share something.  This is my new favorite recipe that I have been busting out all week, and it’s a variation on the Bisquick Chicken Pot Pie recipe found on the box (I actually found it online since the box I have didn’t actually have it).  The hardest part is the chicken, the rest takes all of about 5 minutes to throw together.  First, here’s the recipe:

  • 1 Cup of Chicken
  • 2 Cups of Vegetables
  • 1 Can of Cream of Chicken
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Cup of Milk
  • 1 Cup of Bisquick mix

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Mix the chicken, veggies, soup and spices in a casserole dish, flattening it out when done.  Mix the egg, milk and Bisquick and then pour over the top of the chicken and veggies, spread it out as evenly as possible.  Put it in the oven for 30 minutes (or until the top is browned), makes 6 servings.

I had leftover chicken from the weekend so I started with that, however, I wanted to make more and ended up springing for a rotisserie chicken from the store.  This provided me with at least 3 cups worth of chicken – I pulled one serving from the breast, and finished assembling the dish.  While it was baking, I pulled the rest of the chicken off, shredded it, and put the leftovers in the fridge for next time.  It’s also just as easy to bake a couple of chicken breasts and dice/shred them.

How to make this dish HEALTHIER…

Grab the lower-fat version of the Cream of Chicken (Heart Healthy line of Campbells was even better than the store version of low fat cream of chicken), use low-fat milk, and bulk up on the vegetables – last night I used a can of corn niblets as 1 cup of veggies, and frozen peas and carrots as the other cup, however the corn was a bit abundant, so I will likely go with frozen mixed vegetables next time.

ENJOY!

Posted on October 12, 2012, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say something beautiful!

