Review: The January 2013 DailyHiit 30 Day Challenge

In the past few months I have made small changes to my overall diet and exercise routines.  I’m trying to eat more simply – less processed foods, more fresh stuff, and have been trying out HIIT (high intensity interval training) workouts to see what kind of results I get.

dailyhiitI discovered the BodyRock/DailyHiit people, who have HUNDREDS of videos up on YouTube (their channel is here).  They began a 30 Day Challenge back in January, but I wasn’t able to start it at the time.  I was glad I waited, because someone created a 30 day calendar with all the names of the videos in order, so I printed it out and have been working from that (CLICK HERE for the calendar PDF) – I am happy to credit whomever made it, but when I tried to find where I got it, I just couldn’t locate it again.  While the DailyHiit website is chock full of information, the organization is still lacking in some areas (Facebook comments are ripe with “where do I start!?!” and “how do I find XYZ?!?”).

lisamarie

This is LisaMarie, not me. Not sure I will get to that level of fitness, but I certainly respect her hard work and dedication!

Not sure if HIIT is right for you?  I know I was a little nervous about something that was “high intensity”, but I found that there are a lot of modifications that can be done to stay at your level and you can work up to the harder stuff as you gain strength and muscle.  Besides, just look at LisaMarie, one of the hosts of the videos…  she’s lean and strong, and they love to post pictures from people who have transformed themselves.  Plenty of people that look like me have gotten a lot out of it, so why not try it out!

I figured if anyone wants the challenge in order, you can also come back here to go day by day.  Since this will be a very long post, I will break it up into pages so it doesn’t crit you with a wall of text.  Also, I noted what pieces of equipment they used each day.  The majority of exercises can be modified to not using equipment, although there are some that you will just need to substitute another exercise in.  By the end of the challenge, I already had or purchased a yoga mat, a sandbag, and a set of Equalizers.  They also use a set of these PowerBlock SportBlock hand weights, a weighted jump rope, and I noticed that they also use these grip pads.  You can read my review of the Equalizers from the link.  I did not purchase the same sandbag they use, and the only real difference is that the one I have does not have a center handle for doing evenly-weighted swinging.  Aside from that I love the sandbag, I think it’s my favorite piece of gear.  I love the design of the hand weights they use, but at $160 for the set, I am going to have to make do with something else for now.  I never got the jump rope, I simply do not have the space in the room I exercise in to use one without taking out light fixtures.  I will likely pick up a pair of the grip pads, however, I have found times when those would come in handy for sure.  Now on to the 30 day review…

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Fitness, Product Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Update: After giving it some thought, I made an appointment with my physician to talk to them about not seeing any change physically or on the scale after 30 days of HIITing. The nurse did seem quite surprised when I described what I was doing and that I was doing it 6 days a week, and the doctor suggested running some bloodwork to check my thyroid although he didn’t suspect a problem with it from the palpation he did. One good thing is that my blood pressure had previously been calculated at 120, and yesterday it was 104. I have to wait a couple of days for the results of the tests to see what the next step is, and for now I need to get myself back on track. Since I did the Fit Test yesterday, I am starting with Day 2 again today. Wish me luck.

    • Hiya,

      Did you end up seeing anything in the bloodwork that was abnormal? I’m seriously considering trying the 30 day challenge (may actually make it a 60-day due to fitness level) but I’m personally concerned that the change I want from hiit I may not get after reading this. Did you complete a second round?

      • Hi Lauren,

        No there was nothing abnormal with the bloodwork. After consulting a few different people (doctor, physical fitness instructor, friends who are physically active), we theorized that only HIIT workouts may not be ideal for me. I did find better overall results when I was consistently running on the treadmill, so I think doing more cardio and offsetting it with some HIIT work would be more advantageous.

        Unfortunately I fell off the wagon, and am working my way back to my previous activity level. Happy to report in when I mix the both for a while.

        Good luck to you!

  2. Hi there,
    So I may have an answer to your jump rope problem. I had the same problem. Low ceilings. I purchased a piece of equipment from Power Systems called an Airope. I was skeptical and didn’t want to pay 37.00 and shipping for something I wasn’t sure about. Power Systems had a deal at CHristmas & gave one away as a free gift w/ purchase. Score! I am a personal trainer as well and use it with all of my clients either due to indoor conditions, or lack of coordination. Keeps you from getting tangled up. 🙂 Hope this helps.

    P.S. I don’t work for the company either 😉

  3. where do you find the adjustments to the workouts, like for not having the equipment or beginner?

    • Sometimes the host gives an alternative to the exercise they are doing, but more often than not I would simply do a different exercise that was related to the work they were doing. For instance, the burpees were extremely hard for me (and still are pretty difficult), so instance of trying to get ONE or TWO done in the 50 seconds, I would do box or knee pushups. I remember she did one exercise where she made a V with her body, but it was at a side angle – that was ridiculously hard for me – so I just did curls for that. There were several exercises that I just could not do without having gear, like knee tucks using the Equalizers – I just don’t have the space and furniture to approximate the equalizers, so I did high knees in place of them. (Although tucks WITH the Equalizers are very hard on my wrists, so even though I have the Equalizers now I still don’t like to do them). HTH!

  4. thanks that really helped im gonna do day 6 in a bit and seeing the modification you did is really helping me adjust what i need to, ive been sore every morning, but other people and myself have strated to notice a bit of the difference 🙂

  5. I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your content.
    This article has really peaked my interest.

    I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  1. Pingback: My Very Own Ugly Ball! | rogue the girl

Say something beautiful!

